The Sea Fairies

February 25, 2019
L. Frank Baum
photo by
Nsey Benaj
on unsplash

While L. Frank Baum is best known for the 14 novels in the “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” series the prolific children’s author explored other fantastical worlds. “The Sea Fairies” is an magical underwater fantasy following Mayre Griffiths, nicknamed Trot or occasionally "Tiny Trot” as she fulfills her wish of seeing a mermaid for the first time. Her adventure is filled with a journey through an underwater kingdom where she meets kings, queens and villains along the way.